Garrett Hutson
Photo by Brenda Havens

Garrett Hutson writes upmarket historical mysteries and spy fiction, along with some other literary historical fiction. His stories are always LGBT-inclusive, and usually have subplots around family dysfunction and struggle with faith. Garrett enjoys writing intrigue, and exploring the gray areas of life, with the moral ambiguities that arise from them.

Most of my books fall within three series:

1. Death in Shanghai – historical mysteries set in 1930s Shanghai, featuring Douglas Bainbridge and his friends.

2. Spy Catcher – historical thrillers featuring the exploits of Martin Schuller, an American spy-catcher during World War 2.

3. Tales of the Bohemian Resistance – historical thrillers featuring American musician Oliver Carmichael and his bohemian set of friends in World War 2 France.

For more information about individual books and series, click the links below:


Spy Novels

Other Novels

For book club resources, please click here.

To find out when Garrett’s next book comes out and access exclusive free content, please click here to sign up for his monthly newsletter.